Many races contested in BI, N. Kitsap as filing period ends

  • Tuesday, May 25, 2021 9:12am
  • News

Chris Smith filed Friday to challenge incumbent Brenda Fantroy-Johnson for Bainbridge City Council.

Fantroy-Johnson was appointed to the District 2 North Ward spot last winter. The winner in November will serve the remainder of a two-year term.

Dennis Miller added his name Friday running against incumbent Joe Deets. Ron Peltier, a former councilman, and Lisa Mandelkorn had already filed for the District 7 North Ward spot. It’s for a four-year term. The top two in the primary in August will advance to the general election.

Clarence Moriwaki added his name to the list Friday to run against Mayor Rasham Nassar. Sal DeRosalia filed earlier in the week. The top two in August will advance to the November slate for the District 5 Central Ward four-year post.

With Lisa Neal dropping out Thursday that leaves Jon Quitslund and Kent Scott advancing to November for the four year term being vacated by Christy Carr in the District 3 South Ward.

In the city of Poulsbo, Becky Erickson is the only candidate for mayor, and Ed Stern the only one for City Council Position 5, while Gary B. McVey is the only candidate for Position 7. David Musgrove also filed for Position 6.

For the Bainbridge Island School District, Robert Cromwell filed for District 2, while Mark Emerson filed for District 5. Both are four-year terms.

In the North Kitsap School District, Breane Martinez is the only candidate for District 3, but Richard Eckert and Michael Duchemin will face off in November for District 1.

For Bainbridge Island Fire Department commissioner, Scott Isenman filed for Position 1, and David Dunn and Tim Carey filed for Position 5, both are six-year terms. Andrea Chymiy and Robert Peterson filed for an unexpired two-year spot for Position 3.

For Kitsap County Fire Protection 18, James Ingalls filed for Position 1.

For North Kitsap Fire and Rescue, Wilson Stewart filed for Position 1 and Gillian Gregory for Position 4.

Russell Cordiner filed for District 3 in the Eglon Port race. Eric Cookson filed in District 2 for the Indianola Port race.

For Kingston Port commission, Mary McClure filed for District 2,

For the Port of Poulsbo, Jamie Green filed for Position 2 and Thomas Rose for Position 3.

In the BI Metropolitan Parks and Recreation commission races, Ken DeWitt filed for the six-year Position 2 post, and Jay Kinney filed for the six-year Position 4 spot, while David Maron and Tom Goodlin filed for the unexpired two-year term for Position 5.

In the Village Green Metropolitan Park District, Bobbie Moore and Sherri Kelsay both filed for Position 1, Patrick Pearson was the only one to file for Position 4 and there will be a primary for Position 5 as Ronald Luke, Bob Netzel and Ben Nimmons all filed.

For Kitsap County Sewer District No. 7, Sarah Lee filed for the Position 3 six-year term.

More in News

Kitsap Transit briefs community on possible Southworth ferry docking at Harper Pier

Residents bring plenty of questions to executive director

Poulsbo approves funds for emergency rental assistance

‘They’re an eyelash away from homelessness if we don’t help.’

File photo
WSF cuts BI, Kingston to 1 boat each due to staff shortages

Beginning Oct. 16, Washington State Ferries will temporarily operate reduced schedules on… Continue reading

Youth still slammed by COVID

Youth continue to be slammed by the COVID-19 epidemic. While the case… Continue reading

Incumbent Musgrove takes on write-in candidate for Poulsbo council seat

Musgrove has been on the council for over 10 years

Courtesy photo
Poulsbo Half Marathon & 10k returns Saturday

This year will be biggest turnout since event started in 2016

Co-owner Luis Montes with his wife Liliana who also works at the bakery. Tyler Shuey/North Kitsap Herald photos
Mexican-style bakery no longer just online

Co-owner in Poulsbo hopes to expand to other parts of Kitsap

Most Read