Candidate filing week for 2021 local elections is underway

72 office-seekers have filed as of midday Tuesday


PORT ORCHARD — Beginning Monday, candidates from across Kitsap County — 83 as of the close of business Tuesday filed for 61 local offices — announced their intention to run for election this fall with the county auditor’s office.

In the south end of Kitsap County, incumbents Jay Rosapepe, Scott Diener and Fred Chang filed for reelection to the Port Orchard City Council. Alex Ayala filed to oppose Rosapepe for his Position 2 seat.

Bremerton Mayor Greg Wheeler also filed with the auditor’s office to run for reelection. Bill Broughton, who earlier indicated he planned to oppose Wheeler in this year’s election cycle, had yet to file as of Tuesday.

The District 3 seat held by Bremerton City Council President Kevin Gorman, who says he will not be running for reelection, has plenty of suitors this election. Former council president Jim McDonald and Johannes Schonberg are running to replace Gorman on the City Council.

Jennifer Chamberlin has filed for the District 1 seat in Bremerton and Matthew Adams is running for the District 5 seat. In the District 6 race, Anna Mockler and Mike Simpson are running for election. District 7 councilmember Eric Younger so far will face Art Pettigrue in his bid for reelection.

The race for the South Kitsap School District’s District 3 board of directors seat currently held by Liz Sebren promises to be a spirited one with five candidates vying for the position. Former school board director Chris Lemke is running to return to the board. Other candidates running are Brian Pickard, Mike Eslava, Herbert Willett and Lance Yohe. Jeffrey Wilson has filed for the District 4 seat currently held by Rebecca Diehl.

Two candidates have filed for the South Kitsap Fire and Rescue Commissioner Position 4 seat: Kyle Joyce and Mike Smith. Gerald Preuss is running for Position 1.

Cary Bozeman has filed to run for the District 1 seat with the Port of Bremerton Board of Commissioners.

Bob Ballard will be running for the Commissioner 3 seat with the Port of Manchester. Jeffrey Acoba is running for Waterman Port Commissioner 2 seat.

Two candidates will compete for Commissioner Position 3 with the Manchester Water District: Paul Drotz and James E. Strode.

Candidate filings will continue to be accepted through the end of Friday.

More in News

It’s official: Wolfe is now permanent police chief

Bremerton City Council approves mayor’s selection

6 more COVID-related deaths in Kitsap, 162 total

103 new cases also confirmed in past 24 hours

That One Place restaurant’s COVID battle with state appears headed to court

Port Orchard restaurateur adamant his establishment didn’t violate governor’s directive

Positive COVID case at Poulsbo Middle School

Close contacts have been notified and advised

The Yard Fitness Club opens in Kingston

Club is located at the old Kingston Lumber site, where co-owner David Harvey held his first job

Mediascape: Network television’s bland decline offset by vibrant streaming offerings

YouTube content, paid streaming services will keep you tuned in

Ken Paskett fills his final script, South Park Pharmacy closes

Venerable business forced to shutter because of new lease terms

Users protest the prospect of parking fast ferry at Harper Pier

Kitsap Transit says the outcry is overblown, premature

South Kitsap Artists Assn. name juried exhibition winners

Juried exhibition runs through October at Sidney Art Gallery

Most Read