Incumbents retain seats in NK elections

In the few contested races in North Kitsap, all incumbents retained their elected positions.

In the lone North Kitsap School District board race, incumbent Richard Eckert was re-elected to his District 1 board seat, a position he’s held since 2017. He defeated challenger Michael Duchemin with 4,808 votes (64%) to 2,761 votes (36%). NKSD board member Breane Martinez was also re-elected to her District 3 seat as that race was uncontested.

The only other contested races in North Kitsap were for commissioner spots at the Village Green Metropolitan Park District. Longtime incumbent Bobbie Moore retained her commissioner Position 1 seat, beating challenger Sherri Kelsay with 1,118 votes (77%) to 329 votes (23%). Moore has held her seat since being elected in 2010.

For commissioner Position 5, incumbent Bob Netzel beat Ben Nimmons with 1,030 votes (72%) to 399 votes (28%). Patrick Pearson was also re-elected to commissioner Position 4, an uncontested race.

There were no contested races for the city of Poulsbo but Mayor Becky Erickson and Councilmembers Ed Stern, David Musgrove and Gary McVey were all re-elected.

Other North Kitsap winners in uncontested races included:

North Kitsap Fire & Rescue

Position 1: Wilson R. Stewart

Position 4: Gillian A. Gregory

Poulsbo Fire Department

Position 1: James Ingalls


Eglon: Russell Cordiner

Indianola: Eric Cookson

Keyport: Donald D. McCracken

Kingston: Mary McClure

Poulsbo: Jamie Green, Thomas K. Rose.


Advisory vote 36, telephone lines tax for behavioral health: Repealed 25,410, 57% to 19,225, 43%

Advisory vote 37, capital gains tax: Repealed, 28,135, 63% to 16,832, 37%

Advisory vote 38, captive insurers tax: Repealed 26,656, 61% to 17,234, 39%

Kitsap County

Prop. 1, coroner to medical examiner office: 28,939, 65% to 15,815, 35%

Prop. 2, tax for 911: 28,939, 66% to 14,636, 34%