Mayor Erickson swears in new council members Britt Livdahl and Andrew Phillips. (Photos by Ken Park)

Mayor Erickson swears in new council members Britt Livdahl and Andrew Phillips. (Photos by Ken Park)

New Poulsbo City Council members sworn in

The first Poulsbo City Council meeting of the new year began with the swearing-in of the newly elected council members.

Prior to the new year, Mayor Becky Erickson swore in Gary McVey who took over the role that Abby Garland had filled previously.

The council said goodbye to members Gary Nystul and Ken Thomas who both stepped down from their years of service, making way for newcomers Britt Livdahl and Andrew Phillips.

“I have the great honor tonight to swear in our new council members, new and newly elected council members … I am very proud of each and every one of you sitting behind this dais and I want to thank you upfront for your public service,” Erickson said.

Returning council members, Connie Lord, Jeff McGinty, David Musgrove and Ed Stern all welcomed the new council members. Stern noted that this is the largest change in the Poulsbo City Council in a generation.

“Many challenges await this council in the near term. Our police policies, budgeting, zoning, the question of a city administrator. But by far and away, in the long term, the biggest issue is this city’s growth,” Stern said.

Councilman Musgrove drew attention to the unique relationship between Poulsbo’s council members.

“This council has a unique reputation amongst other councils and government entities, where there is consistently infighting and all kinds of stuff on other councils, commissions and things like that. We try really hard to conduct ourselves professionally. We want to get things done…so we try as much as we can to work together to try and reach common goals. We treat each other with respect and occasionally agree to disagree,” Musgrove said.

Each council member was also assigned to a council committee. Every two years the council rearranges the committees to get fresh ideas on each committee.

Finance Committee:

Jeff McGinty, Gary McVey, and Ed Stern.

Public Works:

Britt Livdahl, Connie Lord and David Musgrove.

Community Services:

Britt Livdahl, Connie Lord and Andrew Phillips.

Public Safety:

Jeff McGinty, Andrew Phillips, and Ed Stern.

Economic Development:

Britt Livdahl, Connie Lord and Dave Musgrove.

Mayor Erickson noted at the Jan. 8 meeting that a seventh committee, called Health, Housing and Human Services will be formed in February following the passing of a resolution.

More in News

COVID-19 cases in Kitsap County now at 50

Kitsap County now has 50 confirmed cases of novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the… Continue reading

Man arrested after barricading home in weeklong standoff

KCSO: Man barricaded himself in his home and set fire to it before surrendering

SBA loan information session set for April 2

Local business owners will have the chance to get more information on… Continue reading

State working to get more personal protection equipment to Washington

Healthcare workers have been on the front line of the COVID-19 crisis,… Continue reading

Gov. Inslee on federal stimulus package: Thanks, but more is needed

Gov. Jay Inslee welcomed the approval of a $2 trillion federal stimulus… Continue reading

Kitsap County suspends plastic bag ban

In an attempt to reduce the spread of COVID-19 Kitsap County commissioners… Continue reading

U.S. Rep. Derek Kilmer
Rep. Kilmer holds telephone town hall on CARES Act, coronavirus

The worst is yet to come, but action taken this week by… Continue reading

KPHD releases directives for employers, employees and the public

As testing continues to ramp up and more cases of COVID-19 are… Continue reading

Grub Hut shutting down for two weeks due to COVID-19 pandemic

The Grub Hut closed Tuesday and will remain so until April 6

Most Read