Greene, Hoffman re-elected; Buesch, Foley leading | Election Notebook

Central Kitsap School Board, Illahee Port Commission Position 2, Silverdale Water Commission Position 3, North Perry Avenue Water District Board of Commissioners

Greene elected to fourth term on CK School Board

SILVERDALE — Eric Greene was elected Nov. 7 to a fourth term on the Central Kitsap School Board.

Greene, a former teacher, retired Navy commander, and program manager at Navy Region Northwest, received 4,488 votes to lawyer and community volunteer Jason Skifstad’s 2,600, according to early results posted election night by the Kitsap County Auditor Elections Office.

Greene said his priorities in term four are to expand the use of technology to create new opportunities for students to earn credit toward graduation; improve the connection between schools and families; give teachers the tools they need to work more efficiently, resulting in more more classroom instructional time; use data to identify the root cause of issues, enabling the district to make corrections “in the most-cost-effective manner”; and increase focus and visibility of co-curricular and extra-curricular activities.

Skifstad thanked those who voted for him.

“I’m grateful for the thousands of people who voted for me in Central Kitsap,” Skifstad said. “I’ve never run for public office before. I think it’s difficult for any candidate who questions the monopoly of educational unions in the state of Washington, but I think those are questions that need to be asked.”

Members of the Central Kitsap School Board are elected to four-year terms. They serve without pay.

Buesch leading for Illahee Port Commission Position 2

ILLAHEE — Jonathan (Jon) Buesch was leading Nov. 7 in the race for Illahee Port Commission Position 2.

Early returns released by the elections office showed Buesch, a retired business owner and member of the Illahee Preserve Stewardship Committee, with 351 votes to former port commissioner Mike Mantzke’s 302. Updated election results were expected to be posted late Nov. 8.

The winner will succeed Cassie Magill, who is retiring from the commission.

Hoffman re-elected to Water Commission

SILVERDALE — Marcus Hoffman was re-elected Nov. 7 to the Silverdale Water Commission Position 3.

Hoffman, a real estate agent, has served as a water district commissioner since 2000. Early returns released by the elections office showed Hoffman with 1,502 votes to former county Veterans Advisory Board chairwoman Michelle Hodges’ 620.

During the campaign, Hoffman said his goal is to continue to build “a sustainable water system that provides all the necessary water for our growing community in a cost-effective manner while protecting our limited water resources.”

He added, “I have proven leadership in this industry and have spent years getting industry training and education to provide the best long-term solutions, but the reality is our professional staff run the district. Our three-person elected Board of Commissioners gives direction, ensures funding, sets rates and determines policy, but Silverdale Water District has some of the industry’s best personnel and I could not give them enough credit for their superior professionalism and dedication. I am honored to be serving here.”

Slight lead for Foley in North Perry Water District race

BREMERTON — Ray Foley, one of the longest-served elected officials in Kitsap, was leading Nov. 7 in his bid for another term on the North Perry Avenue Water District Board of Commissioners.

Early returns released by the elections office showed Foley with 1,016 votes to construction company owner Dave Turnquist’s 992; that’s a margin of 50.4 percent to 49.2 percent. Updated election results were expected to be posted late Nov. 8.

The district, established in 1942, provides water to more than 7,400 connections in a 12-square-mile area. According to, the district operates 10 production wells with a capacity of more than 5 million gallons per day, and maintains more than 100 miles of pipeline.

Should he prevail, Foley, a commissioner since 1987, would surpass 30 years of service on the commission. According to the county elections office website, only two other elected officials in Kitsap have served longer: Manchester Port Commissioner James Strode, and Crystal Springs Water District Commissioner Earl J. Krause, both elected in 1985.

Longest-served elected officials now in office

Manchester Port Commissioner (and Manchester Water District Commissioner) James Strode (1985).

Crystal Springs Water District Commissioner Earl J. Krause (1985).

North Perry Water District Commissioner Ray Foley (1987).

North Kitsap Fire & Rescue Commissioner Fernando “Espy” Espinosa (1987).

South Kitsap Fire and Rescue Commissioner Dave Geisleichter (1987).

Kitsap Public Utility District Commissioner Lloyd S. Berg (1988).

Poulsbo City Council member Jeff McGinty (1991).

Kitsap County Sewer District Commissioner Sarah Lee (1991).

Waterman Port Commissioner Jack E. McCarn (1991).