Authorities ID eight police officers involved in fatal shooting in Eagle Harbor

BAINBRIDGE ISLAND — The eight police officers who were involved in the fatal shooting of Robert D. Yeiser were identified by their respective police departments July 24.

Yeiser, 34, of Seattle was shot as he stood on the deck of his sailboat, the Flying Gull, after a four-hour standoff in Eagle Harbor on the evening of July 8.

Yeiser reportedly fired nearly 200 rounds at random at the shoreline and homes along the harbor before he was confronted by a police SWAT team in two police boats in the early morning hours of July 9.

Authorities said they had tried for hours to get Yeiser to surrender peacefully and step off his sailboat, but Yeiser was shot numerous times after he reportedly aimed a rifle at officers in the boats pulling up next to his vessel.

Several police officers, including a Bainbridge officer, fired their weapons at Yeiser.

Yeiser died at the scene.

Detectives have not said how many times Yeiser was struck, though the Kitsap County coroner reported earlier that Yeiser died of multiple gunshot wounds to the chest and abdomen.

While the investigation into the shooting continues, the names of the officers involved in the shooting were announced Monday.

Officer Dale Johnson of the Bainbridge Island Police Department was one of the officers who fired upon the gunman, according to the Bainbridge department.

Johnson has been an officer on Bainbridge for more than 25 years. He is currently on paid administrative leave, but is expected to return to full duty by the end of the month, officials said.

The Bremerton officer involved in the shooting was identified July 24 as Corporal Dahle “Duke” Roessel, an 11-year member of the department and a member of the Kitsap County Regional SWAT team.

Roessel has also been placed on paid leave pending the completion of the shooting investigation, which is being conducted by the Washington State Patrol’s Criminal Investigative Division.

Authorities said six other officers, all with the Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office, were also involved in the shooting and were placed on administrative leave.

Those officers were identified as Deputy Anthony Graham, Deputy Shane Hanson, Deputy Andrew Hren, Deputy Eric Janson, Deputy Greg Rice and Sgt. Wilson Sapp.

According to the Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office, all six were cleared to return to duty July 24.

More in News

Photo courtesy of Patty Pace
                                These students from Patty Pace’s second-grade class last year at South Colby Elementary gathered in a circle to exhibit the true meaning of kindness and how it spreads in an interconnected way.
Rocks, water and the ripples

Second-graders learn how kindness can spread like ripples in the water

Patience and style is the key for local leathercrafter

Main designer and creator Will Webb started Rainier Leather Company back in January

Kilmer queries first-responder agency leaders about mental health issues

Leadership says PTSD has become a ‘retirement disease’

Bremerton elementary school goes into lockdown after reports of burglary suspect nearby

47-year-old Roger Murdock has an outstanding warrant for second-degree burglary

City Council, mayor to scour for holiday spirit

The public is invited to ride along Dec. 16

Silverdale Rotary Turkey Trot set for Thanksgiving morning

Funds raised from event will support community activities, including Central Kitsap Food Bank

CKF&R receives Management Excellence Award

CKF&R won in category A, which is for departments with a budget over $4 million

Silverdale tree lighting kicks off Christmas season in Central Kitsap

Parents and their children came out Saturday evening to witness the arrival… Continue reading

Warren Ave. Bridge pedestrian improvements delayed by I-976

Local project is one of many statewide projects being postponed

Most Read